New medical challenge for AgaThor

Hey, guys! I’m sorry these updates come less and less frequently. When I started this blog I was working less hours and didn’t have much of a social life, so I had a lot more time to devote to this. But, there’s been a lot of activity in AgaThor’s life recently and I think all of you deserve an update. This post will be to the point with nothing held back. Also, because it’s already 11:04pm and I work tomorrow, plus I must do the AgaThor ritual in the morning, I’m short on time, so please excuse errors as I won’t have time to proofread tonight.

About two weeks ago, I came to my mother’s to find AgaThor with an injured leg. My first thought was, “Did he get it caught on one of the dog cages?” I looked at all of the cages and couldn’t find any with blood, skin, or cat hair on it. My second thought was, “No way, did Hannah groom him too hard through her cage?” Again, I looked all around her cage and didn’t see anything. I took a closer look at the wound and saw a bunch of puncture marks, that clearly would have been made by cat teeth rather than dog. My mother arrived at her house about fifteen minutes later to find me in a panic. After hurriedly telling her what I found, she informed me that the same morning she’d found that he’d licked hair off those same spots and there were a couple of bites. She put some Neosporin on it and was going to check it after work. She panicked when she saw it, too. It was much, much worse than it had been that morning. He went to the vet immediately, and the veterinarian was really worried about his leg, saying that it may have to be amputated, but that we’d try him on some really strong antibiotics to give it a chance to heal. Her main concern, however, is why he would do this to himself. She worried it was a neurological condition and that the behavior would continue. She told us we should prepare ourselves for the possibility that he may continue to hurt himself and, therefore, that we may have to put him to sleep.

We decided to go with the strong meds, a cone of shame, and for our vet to consult with a neurologist. For the last week he has been on antibiotics and pain meds. He’s also been given a special bath on his leg to make sure the wound stays clean. Three days ago the vet contacted me to let me know that after consulting with a neurologist, they think it best to try him on anti-depressants to see if, once the cone comes off, that will keep him from harming himself. Today, I had to take him to the vet because he had rectal bleeding and his nose and gums looked pale. Thankfully, the vet thinks my panic wasn’t warranted. She says that the paleness to his nose and gums is because the anti-depressant that he’s on make him have low blood pressure, so she doesn’t think it is because of the bleeding. He has been having some incontinence issues and she believes that is what is causing the rectal bleeding, but told me to keep an eye on it. So, that’s where we stand right now. His cone will not come off until next Tuesday because the vet wants to make sure the anti-depressant is strong in his system before we give it a go. So, dear AgaThor fans, please keep your fingers crossed that the anti-depressant does the trick. I’m not sure what will happen if it does not.

I took some pics the last few days and I will post them on Sunday or Monday.

I hope all of you are well. Sending our best wishes!

One comment on “New medical challenge for AgaThor

Leave a Reply

